top of page

TO MY SISTER


"I thank my God upon every remembrance of you." - Phillipians 1:3

Dear big sister,

We're more than that. Sisters, I mean.

The relationship between us is more than just the fact that we have the same parents, or that we grew up in the same house, or that we share a last name. It's that we've been best friends since I was born. Yeah, you and our brother have always been the best of friends, but there's nothing like the bond between two sisters.

I'm thankful for the memories we share. For the times when it's just Jessica and Mckenzie, taking on the world. Er, making fruit pizza together. For the movie nights with popcorn and candy. I'm thankful that we can share clothes (even though I'm very reluctant most of the time), share makeup, and share hairbrushes. You can't exactly trade blouses with your brother, after all. That I can tell you anything without the fear of being judged or abandoned because of it. That I have a hilarious, gorgeous, intelligent, kind, Godly sister like you.

We don't get along twenty-four-seven. That's a given, though - we're sisters, what can you expect? But my favorite thing is when we're in the car together, singing along to One Direction, Meghan Trainor, James Bay, or whatever our current obsession is. When we're bonding simply over laying in the same bed on our phones, watching videos about calligraphy or scrolling through Pinterest boards about weddings.

Something that absolutely amazes me is that you never fail to see the beauty and goodness in other people. You are willing to talk to and help out anyone you meet, and your heart is pure gold. I can't wait to see what the Lord is going to do through you, because I know it will be amazing.

You're my best friend. I couldn't dream of or ask for a better sister than the one God gave me - you, of course. I'm glad that we can still share secrets and ask, "Does this outfit match?", even when you're 190 miles away from me. You've shown me the Lord through your heart, actions, and love for others. I'm more proud of you than you'll ever know.

Love,

Your little sister

Image Source: My awesome brother, who unwillingly took our pictures on Independence Day. Thanks, Dylan!


bottom of page